Make your cake and eat it too!

August 24, 2010 at 4:46 PM (Uncategorized) (, , , )

Hey there… it’s been a while!  Been a while since I’ve had any time in my kitchen, and that does not make me happy.  This weekend, however, I finally had a day where I could really mess up the kitchen!  What did I make to mess up my kitchen this weekend you ask?  Well, I took a stab at one of the only kinds of cake I’ll eat anytime of year; carrot cake.  Now before I get into my recipe, I have to mention that one of my favorite things to do right after I clean my entire apartment is bake.  Something about the warm aroma coming from the oven just makes my apartment feel that much cleaner!

This time around, I decided to try, for the first time, carrot cake!  Here’s the recipe I used, for the cake and the frosting:

Ingredients

  • Butter, for pans
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for pans
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 3 cups grated carrots
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped pecans, optional

Directions

Frosting:

  • 2 (8-ounce) packages cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 stick salted butter, room temperature
  • 1 (16-ounce) box powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour 3 (9-inch) round pans; Line bottom of the pans with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Add eggs and vegetable oil. Using a hand mixer, blend until combined. Add carrots and pecans, if using.

Pour into pans. Bake for approximately 40 minutes. Remove from oven and cool for 5 minutes. Remove from pans, place on waxed paper and allow to cool completely before frosting.

For the frosting:

Add all ingredients, except nuts, into a medium bowl and beat until fluffy using a hand mixer. Stir in the nuts. Spread frosting on top of each cake layer. Stack the cakes on a serving plate and serve.

I don’t personally like nuts in any of my baking (that’s what she said? no?), so I left them out.  Another great tip is this:

**Make sure you shred your own carrots! It keeps the cake so moist even into the second and third day you have it around.  I also like this recipe because you can make it a bit healthier by using one regular cream cheese and one reduced fat or fat free cream cheese for the frosting.  I would show you a picture of the cake, but it disappeared so fast, I couldn’t snap a shot!  I have one piece left in the freezer but even if I don’t get a picture of that, you can guarantee I will make it again!  This recipe is compliments of non other than…

MA GURL!  Seriously, my mom thinks I’m crazy when I say when this woman dies (GOD FORBID) I will travel to her grave with a stick of butter and a jar of mayonnaise but it will happen…it…will…happen.

Now I have something to get off my chest, I know I promised Top Chef recaps, but honestly, I’ve had it with this season.  Once that pea puree fiasco happened, I gave up.  I just couldn’t do it anymore.  I, of course, will keep watching, but let me say this: Top Chef DC, you are lucky that you have moved to 10pm because you would have lost my viewing to Master Chef with the rude, crude…and SEXAY Gordon Ramsay.  Seriously, check it out it’s a great show!

Well this post wasn’t my finest, or most entertaining, but I do recommend you all try this carrot cake recipe!  Until next time, sicuro viaggi and bon appetit!

**Peas, Love and Good Eye Sight**

Leave a Reply

