ASK AND YOU SHALL RECEIVE!!!

July 31, 2010 at 6:47 PM (Uncategorized) ()

Before I move on to the other things I made today… we NEED to talk about Top Chef.  Everyone likes being right, correct?!  And everyone likes to point out when they’re right…right?!  So I just need to take a second and do an “I told ya so” dance!  Was it not even a week ago that I said, they should have Art Smith, Jose Andres and some members of Congress on the show?! Seriously, ask and you shall receive!

This week’s episode of Top Chef was FINALLY DC!!!!  First, Aaron Schock (aka Doogie Howser) was the guest for the Quickfire Challenge.  I’d be doing myself a disservice if I didn’t take a second to brag that I was one of the first people in DC to take him out to lunch when he was a candidate back in 07.  So now that you all know that tidbit of useless information, the quickfire challenge was ALL TOO FAMILIAR.  Being someone who has to know every federal election law ever written to avoid being sent to prison, I was hysterically laughing when they brought up the new “food rule.” While planning convention activities in 2008, the Federal Election Commission decided to try to avoid lobbyist and special interest groups buying lavish dinners for members of Congress by making a rule that everything had to be small enough to be served with a toothpick (or a spoon; i.e. an amuse-bouche).  One of my favorite dishes at the conventions was actually an amuse-bouche made on an edible spoon! Ahhh, loopsholes!  This rule is more commonly known as the “toothpick rule”  to which Rep. Schock referred to.  So this challenge was not only one that was close to home, but a very DC-unique challenge.

The elimination challenge was also awesome because there is NOTHING I miss more than DC Power Lunches.  There were many Fridays that were spent drinking expensive bottles of wine in the most lavish restaurants in DC during the lunch hour giving y’er shpeal, making deals…and that was just my experience!  Those types of lunches happened everyday.  Not only was this a good challenge, but they had it had The Palm which is a notable DC restaurant, with hugely notable DC judges!!!  Sen. Mark Warner was there, ART SMITH, Luke Russert and Joe Scarborough, just to name a few.  I seriously feel like the were listening to me bitch!  And what made me literally scream at the end of the episode?!  Next week’s guest judge….

IS JOSE ANDRES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Pretty sure I’ve made my case for him since the beginning of, not only, this season of Top Chef, but of this blog.  He’s my favorite, HANDS DOWN, favorite DC chef.  I am so happy Top Chef finally saw the light and are incorporating more DC into this season.

As I said before, this is the most manipulative, competitive group of competitors I’ve ever seen on this show, which honestly, makes a lot of sense because there isn’t a more manipulative, competitive city than Washington, D.C.  This episode, Alex OBVIOUSLY stole Ed’s English Pea puree and ended up winning the elimination challenge because of it.  I hope he falls flat on his face, literally and figuratively, and is eliminated next week. He’s a Russian Spy and I don’t like the cut of his jib.  Then Amanda needs to go…still vying for that.

At the end of the day, Andrea was asked to leave, which wasn’t unexpected, she’s definitely wasn’t a stand out chef this season and was bound to leave any way.  I can’t wait for this week’s episode because of Jose Andres, I hope he’s on for all 52 minutes or whatever length of time the show is actually on for.

Alright kids, thanks for coming and until next time, sicuro viaggi and bon appetit!

**Peas, Love and Power Lunches**

Leave a Reply

